Cost guide
How Much Does a Ski Trip to Japan Cost?
There is no single number. What you spend swings mostly on three things: which resort (Niseko and Hakuba cost more than Nozawa Onsen or a day trip to Biwako Valley), when you go (peak weeks versus early season or March), and how much you rent or take lessons. This guide breaks a trip into line items.
Prices are in yen per adult. We use official pages where we could find them (2026–27 lift passes) and label everything else as secondary or approximate. International flights are not included. Prices change every season, so confirm before you book.
The short version
- Lift pass: from ¥7,800 a day at Nozawa Onsen to ¥13,500 at Niseko in peak weeks (official 2026–27 prices). Smaller day-trip resorts run lower.
- Rental: skis or snowboard with boots about ¥4,500–9,500 a day; jacket and pants about ¥2,350–5,500 a day.
- Lessons: English group lessons roughly ¥10,000–22,000 for a half or full day; private lessons cost far more and are usually priced per group.
- Food: two secondary sources put it at about ¥3,800–7,000 a day.
- Getting there and luggage: roughly ¥3,500–13,000 each way depending on the resort (see the table below), plus roughly ¥3,000–5,000 to forward a snowboard bag.
1. Lift passes
This is the biggest fixed cost, and it varies by resort and season. The table shows what we have on file for each resort. Niseko, Hakuba (all-mountain) and Nozawa Onsen are official 2026–27 prices; the others are from earlier seasons or secondary sources, and each resort's page lists its sources.
| Resort | Lift pass on record |
|---|---|
| Niseko United | ¥12,600/day regular; ¥13,500/day at peak (Dec 24–Feb 28); ¥8,800/day early and spring season (2026–27, official) |
| Hakuba Valley | ¥11,100/day for the all-mountain Hakuba Valley pass (2026–27, official); single-area passes such as Hakuba47/Goryu are around ¥9,500–10,000 (secondary source) |
| Nozawa Onsen | ¥7,800/day; ¥14,500 for 2 days; ¥21,200 for 3 days (2026–27, official; no peak surcharge listed) |
| Zao Onsen | ¥6,500/day, ¥4,000/4-hour, ¥21,600/7-day (2024–25 season) |
| GALA Yuzawa | ~¥5,500/day (approximate) |
| Rusutsu Resort | ¥16,200/day at the window; ~¥12,000/day online (2025–26 peak season) |
| Myoko Kogen | ~¥7,000/day (Suginohara) |
| Furano | Not confirmed |
| Biwako Valley | ~¥4,400–6,500/day if bought online in advance; up to ¥6,800 at the gate (includes round-trip ropeway, lifts, and Biwako Terrace admission) |
| Fujiyama Snow Resort Yeti | Uses an all-inclusive admission-ticket system rather than separate lift tickets. Secondary sources cite roughly ¥4,300/day (weekday) to ¥5,300/day (weekend, adult) — not directly confirmed on an official pricing page. |
Niseko's multi-day passes in the peak period (2026–27) are ¥26,500 for 2 days, ¥39,500 for 3 and ¥65,500 for 5. Hakuba Valley's all-mountain pass is ¥21,800 for 2 days, ¥32,200 for 3 and ¥53,400 for 5. Nozawa Onsen is ¥14,500 for 2 days and ¥21,200 for 3 (Niseko, Hakuba Valley, Nozawa Onsen).
2. Equipment rental
- Niseko: MnK's ski or board with boots is ¥6,000 (Performer) or ¥8,000 (Premier) a day, with free delivery and pickup (MnK Niseko). Another Niseko shop lists ¥4,500 for skis and boots, ¥2,350 for jacket or pants (or both), and ¥2,000 for a helmet, with 10% off for booking online and a "rent 6 days, pay for 5" offer (Ski Rental Niseko).
- Hakuba: one rental shop lists ¥4,500 a day for skis and boots and ¥2,350 for outerwear (Ski Hire Hakuba, year not stated). A secondary source for 2025–26 gives ¥6,500 for skis and boots and ¥3,000–4,000 for outerwear.
- Nozawa Onsen: a secondary source for 2026–27 gives about ¥4,650–6,700 a day for a standard set on a 3-day rental and ¥2,700–5,500 for jacket and pants; bringing your own boots saves roughly ¥1,000 a day (Nozawa Peaks).
3. Lessons
- Hakuba: English group lessons run ¥15,000–18,000 for a full day, with a Hakuba47 half-day group at ¥10,000. Private lessons are priced per group: about ¥40,000 for a half day at one school, and ¥65,000–100,000 for a full day (The Hakuba Collection, 2026–27).
- Niseko: secondary sources give ¥15,000–22,000 for a group half day and private lessons from about ¥26,000; MnK lists 3-hour private lessons (up to 5 people) from ¥51,000 (Japan Route Notes, MnK Niseko).
- Nozawa Onsen: we couldn't confirm group lesson prices.
4. Lodging
This is the item we have the least reliable data for, and it swings the most with dates. Treat these as anchors, not quotes:
- Niseko: one lodge lists dorm beds at ¥9,500–11,800 per person per night, a twin room at ¥33,000, a 4-person room at ¥45,200 and a three-bed house at ¥99,000 per night, for Dec 14 to Mar 14 excluding the New Year period, plus ¥300 per person per night and an accommodation tax (Freeride Lodge, 2026–27).
- Hakuba: a 2-bedroom apartment for four is ¥65,000 a night normally and ¥90,000 during Dec 20 to Mar 10 at one operator, plus a ¥500 per person per night tax (Hakuba Holiday, year not stated).
- Nozawa Onsen: guesthouses are around ¥5,000–5,500 per person per night per a secondary source (Nozawa Onsen guide). Booking.com showed $80–240 for two adults for one night in Sep–Oct, which is not a winter price.
We couldn't confirm actual peak versus off-peak winter rates for these three areas, so we don't give a lodging total here.
5. Food
A modest meal near a Niseko resort is about ¥1,500–2,500, and slope-side cafeteria meals such as ramen or katsu curry about ¥1,800–2,800 (secondary sources). Two secondary guides estimate ¥3,800 and ¥5,000–7,000 a day. Buying groceries and cooking is the main way to cut this: one Niseko guide puts a week of groceries at about ¥5,000–10,000 per person (HTM Niseko, Japow, Japan Route Notes).
6. Getting there
The table shows the main route on file for each resort. The cost is one-way, as recorded.
| Resort | From | Time | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Niseko United | New Chitose Airport | ~2h 56m by bus; ~2h 40m by train (via Otaru) | ¥6,000 one-way by bus (adult; ¥3,000 child) |
| Hakuba Valley | Tokyo | ~2h45m (Shinkansen + bus) or 5h30m (direct highway bus from Shinjuku) | Direct bus from Shinjuku ¥6,400–7,800 (Dec 6–Mar 31, adult); or Shinkansen to Nagano ¥8,340 reserved plus an onward bus |
| Nozawa Onsen | Tokyo | ~2h (Shinkansen to Iiyama + bus) | ~¥9,100 (¥8,500 Shinkansen + ¥600 bus) |
| Zao Onsen | Tokyo | ~3h10m (Shinkansen + bus); ~7h on the winter overnight bus from Shinjuku | ~¥12,700 (Shinkansen route: ¥11,500 + ¥1,200 bus); ¥4,500–8,000 (overnight bus) |
| GALA Yuzawa | Tokyo | 75–77 minutes | ~¥7,250 one-way (Shinkansen) |
| Rusutsu Resort | New Chitose Airport | ~2h | ¥3,500–5,500 one-way |
| Myoko Kogen | Tokyo | ~2h15m (Shinkansen + shuttle) | Shinkansen fare + up to ¥1,300 shuttle |
| Furano | New Chitose Airport | ~2.5–3h | — |
| Biwako Valley | Kyoto | ~50 minutes | — |
| Fujiyama Snow Resort Yeti | Tokyo | ~2h (Shinkansen Tokyo–Mishima ~1h + bus ~60–80 min) | Shinkansen fare (Tokyo–Mishima) + ¥1,830 one-way bus from Mishima Station |
Reference fares: Tokyo to Nagano by Shinkansen is ¥8,340 reserved, Tokyo to Echigo-Yuzawa ¥6,900 and Tokyo to Yamagata ¥11,670 (Ekitan, Tokyo Cheapo, Ekitan). The Shinjuku to Hakuba direct bus is ¥6,400–7,800 in the Dec 6 to Mar 31 season (Highway Buses), and the New Chitose to Niseko Resort Liner is ¥6,000 for ages 12 and over, reservation required (Access N).
Is the Japan Rail Pass worth it?
Usually not for a ski-only trip. The nationwide pass is ¥50,000 for 7 days, ¥80,000 for 14 and ¥100,000 for 21 through Sep 30, 2026; from Oct 1, 2026 the price through overseas agents rises to ¥53,000, ¥84,000 and ¥105,000, while purchase on the official site keeps the current price for a limited time (end date not announced) (Self-Guide Japan, JNTO). One guide estimates a Tokyo–Kyoto round trip at about ¥28,000, well short of the 7-day pass; it only pays off on a longer multi-city loop. A short ski trip with one Shinkansen round trip rarely gets there.
7. Forwarding luggage
Couriers can send ski or snowboard bags ahead. One secondary source lists a snowboard bag from Tokyo to Nagano at ¥3,060 and to Hokkaido at ¥4,350 (plus ¥600 for a cover); another gives ¥3,680 and ¥5,220 (Japow, Japan Route Notes). We couldn't retrieve the courier's own price table, so treat these as approximate.
8. Travel insurance
Japan doesn't require insurance to enter, but visitors aren't covered by Japan's national health system and medical bills can be high, so cover is recommended (Backcountry Insurance). One secondary source says public rescue services generally don't bill visitors directly (SnowBrains), but private rescue can be charged: the Northern Alps rescue council lists ¥40,000 per rescuer per day, with helicopter costs varying by prefecture (Yamatomo). Check that your policy covers both search-and-rescue and treatment for winter sports. We couldn't confirm whether on-piste patrol rescue is free at each resort.
Example: three ski days, lift pass plus rental
To show how much the resort matters, here is the same three days at three resorts, counting only the lift pass and skis or a board with boots. It excludes lodging, food, lessons and travel. The arithmetic is ours, from the prices above.
| Resort | 3-day lift pass | 3 days of ski and boot rental | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Niseko (peak period) | ¥39,500 | ¥18,000 (¥6,000 × 3, MnK Performer) | ¥57,500 |
| Hakuba (all-mountain) | ¥32,200 | ¥13,500 (¥4,500 × 3, price year not stated) | ¥45,700 |
| Nozawa Onsen | ¥21,200 | ¥13,950–20,100 (¥4,650–6,700 × 3) | ¥35,150–41,300 |
Ways to spend less
- Ski the shoulder season. Niseko's 2026–27 early and spring price is ¥8,800 a day against ¥13,500 in the peak period — about 35% less. See Best Time to Ski in Japan for the dates.
- Buy lift tickets online in advance. Niseko lists about 5% off online (Niseko); Rusutsu's online price of about ¥12,000 compares with ¥16,200 at the window (2025–26, secondary); Biwako Valley's online tickets start at ¥4,400 against ¥6,800 at the gate.
- Buy multi-day passes. By our arithmetic a 3-day pass works out about 2–3% cheaper per day at Niseko and Hakuba and about 9% at Nozawa Onsen than buying single days.
- Rent for several days, book online, and bring your own boots. One Niseko shop takes 10% off web bookings and gives the sixth day free; Nozawa boots saved about ¥1,000 a day.
- Cook some meals. Groceries are the biggest lever on daily food costs.
- Choose the resort to fit the budget. Compare two resorts or browse family-friendly resorts.
What we couldn't confirm
- Actual winter peak and off-peak lodging rates in Niseko, Hakuba and Nozawa Onsen.
- Group lesson prices at Nozawa Onsen, and the current Yamato courier price table.
- Whether on-piste patrol rescue is free at each resort.
- Most prices here mix 2025–26 and 2026–27 seasons; where the year is unknown we say so.
Sources
- Niseko United — lift tickets (2026–27)
- Niseko United — online lift pass
- Hakuba Valley — tickets (2026–27)
- The Hakuba Collection — lift passes
- Nozawa Onsen — lift ticket prices (2026–27)
- MnK Niseko — equipment rental
- Ski Rental Niseko — prices
- Ski Hire Hakuba — pricing
- Nozawa Peaks — Nozawa Onsen ski rental prices
- The Hakuba Collection — ski and snowboard lessons
- Japan Route Notes — Japan ski trip cost
- MnK Niseko — ski and snowboard lessons
- Freeride Lodge Niseko — rates
- Hakuba Holiday — rates
- Booking.com — Nozawa Onsen
- Nozawa Onsen — accommodation guide
- HTM Niseko — cost of living guide
- Japow — Japan ski trip cost
- Japow — luggage forwarding for a Japan ski trip
- Self-Guide Japan — Japan Rail Pass price 2026
- Japan National Tourism Organization — nationwide Japan Rail Pass price change
- Ekitan — Tokyo to Nagano by Shinkansen
- Tokyo Cheapo — Joetsu Shinkansen
- Ekitan — Tokyo to Yamagata by Shinkansen
- Highway Buses — Shinjuku to Hakuba
- Access N — New Chitose to Niseko Resort Liner
- Backcountry Insurance — travel insurance for skiing in Japan
- SnowBrains — rescue costs for ski tourists in Japan
- Yamatomo — mountain rescue costs in Japan